Goodbye 2016

With another year over it’s time to reflect on what has been. 2016 was an up and down year with a lot of laughter but also a lot of tears.
In May I travelled to France to watch the tennis at Roland Garros. Although most of the morning was a washout, play eventually got underway and I was lucky enough to watch Stan Wawrinka, Kei Nishikori and Andy Murray. Having been to all the other Grandslam venues I was surprised by how small and compact Roland Garros was especially Philippe-Chatrier Court however I’m not complaining as it allowed me to be court side.

enlight1-7enlight1-8

Also in May my mum celebrated a special birthday so me and my brother took her away on a three day cruise to Brussels. We arrived in Belgium not long after the terrorist attack and although the city was on edge it was a privilege to see people carry on with their everyday life and it is honestly one of the most beautiful cities I’ve ever been to. Keep strong Belgium we are all with you.

 

My last holiday of the year took me to Dubai. I first visited Dubai in 2003 and immediately fell in love. No matter how many times you go to Dubai nothing is ever the same. During my visit I decided to go up the tallest building in the world and my what a view. The view was exactly what I imagined it would be, a mixture of tall city buildings and barren lands which I’m sure in the next 10 years will look like the picture below.

enlight1December 2016 saw me mark the 5th Anniversary of my blood clot which left me paralysed. The last five years have been anything but easy, with a lot of ups and downs and even points where I have watned to give up entirely. But 2016 finally saw the breakthrough I have been hoping for, I have finally progressed to walking with a frame unsupported on my right leg. I know I still have a long way to go but considering I started from nothing how can I ever give up hope that I can’t get back to how I was before. I cannot thank my physio, family and friends enough for all the support and encouragement  without them I wouldn’t be where I am today.And what better way to end the year then watching the fireworks in my favourite city. I may be biased as it’s my home but I regard London as one of the best cities in the world and they certainly no how to put on a show. 12 Minutes of fireworks accompanied by incredible music from Artists we have lost over the year and then a rendition of Auld Lang Syne bringing together strangers of all different nationalities, religions and abilities. In a year of hard times and terror it was a blessing to see strangers brought together not because of fear and sadness but because of joy and celebration.

New Year’s marks a new beginning. New people to meet, new adventures to enjoy and new memories to create. Here’s wishing you the Happiest New Year ever.

 

 

Leave a Reply

